

March 25, 2021

The Honorable Phillip Chen California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 4177 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Assembly Bill 1260 – SUPPORT / SPONSOR

Dear Assemblyman Chen,

The San Bernardino County Transportation Authority (SBCTA) is proud to support / sponsor Assembly Bill (AB) 1260, a bill to exempt from the requirements of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) projects by a public transit agency to construct or maintain infrastructure to charge or refuel zero-emission trains.

As you are aware, Senate Bill (SB) 288 by Senator Scott Weiner was passed by the legislature and signed into law in 2020. SBCTA was a part of a statewide coalition of transportation stakeholders that supported SB 288 in order to save critical time and money by creating narrowly tailored statutory exemptions from CEQA for projects that make streets safer for walking and bicycling, speed up transit service in the public right-of-way, reduce parking, and install zero-emission infrastructure.

SBCTA is leading the effort to bring the first hydrogen and battery self-powered passenger train to North America. As SB 288 included exemptions for projects to construct or maintain infrastructure to charge or refuel self-powered zero-emission transit busses, AB 1260 would extend those exemptions to rail and help build the critical infrastructure needed to support this zero-emission train. This project is consistent with the state's goals of reducing Greenhouse Gas emissions and fighting the impacts of climate change. With this in mind, SBCTA is proud our forward-looking vision in San Bernardino County will bring about this and other projects that will move us closer to cleaner public transit options.

For these reasons, SBCTA is pleased to support / sponsor AB 1260. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact Ray Wolfe, Executive Director, or Otis Greer, Director of Legislative and Public Affairs, at (909) 884-8276.

Sincerely,

FRANK J. NAVARRO

President, San Bernardino County Transportation Authority

cc: San Bernardino County Delegation