New Legislative Policy Committee Members

June 8, 2020

At the June Board of Directors meeting, out-going Board President Darcy McNaboe announced her appointments to the new SBCTA Legislative Policy Committee (LPC).

Early in the 2020 State Legislative session, bills were introduced that inspired a greater involvement by the SBCTA Board of Directors. There were two bills of critical importance that were introduced, AB 2011 (Holden) and SB 1390 (Portantino). Although multiple Board members wished to provide insight and feedback on the legislative proposals, their participation was restricted in these discussions to avoid any conflict with California’s Brown Act open meeting law.

In order to expand the participation of Board members, while maintaining an effective and efficient response to the ever-changing legislative landscape, the Board of Directors established a standing Legislative Policy Committee authorized to take positions on state and federal bills, on behalf of the agency, that are consistent with SBCTA’s adopted Legislative Platform.

The LPC will also provide guidance to the Board on state and federal regulations, policies and issues. The committee will be responsible for directing the drafting of the SBCTA Legislative Platform which guides those positions taken by the agency, receive periodic updates from SBCTA staff, as well as SBCTA’s state and federal legislative advocates in Sacramento and Washington, D.C., on various legislative issues.

The members of the LPC are:

  • Larry McCallon, City of Highland, representing the East Valley;
  • Alan Wapner, City of Ontario, representing the West Valley;
  • Art Bishop, Town of Apple Valley, representing the Mountain/Desert; and
  • Curt Hagman, representing the County Board of Supervisors.

Members of the Executive Committee will also sit on the Committee. They are:

  • Frank Navarro, City of Colton, Board President
  • Julie McIntyre, City of Barstow, Board Vice-President
  • Darcy McNaboe, City of Grand Terrace, Immediate Past-President.
Loading icon